Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Help not sufficient

I have been working with LMD Tools for many years now,
currently using latetst LMD Tools 2022.8 on WIN11, 
RadStudio 11.3, with latest help files installed.

While  the tools functionality has been wonderfully enhanced over time,
at the same time the help files seem to go down the drain.

Most time I use F1 to get help on some element,
I either get no or a totally rudimentary help entry.
(Just one of 1000 examples, try to get help on TLMDSysSystemInfo)

Escaping for help to the CHM files sometimes helps a bit,
but most times does not give more information.

I am software developer, and I dislike to have to guess about functions all the time.
A proper help file is the backbone of this kind of tools,
so my question:

Am I wrong ?
Is anybody else here as frustrated as me by the scarce documentation ?

Once more, I lopve the tools, but I think I could make way more out of it
if they were properly documented.

Comments

• 2 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • edited April 2023 Posts: 0Vote Up0Vote Down
    I feel your pain. I have found this to be the case with many dev's of VCL. I spend more time looking for the method then actually doing the code. There are the methods for the standard VCL then the dev's do something different. What's more frustrating is the lake of demos and if there are demos it's not commented. Then there is the long wait times for answers or when there is an answer it's a non answer.

I would be great if the dev's provided many more examples in the documentation with comments, or with the code examples break it down into smaller examples with comments.
  • edited May 2023 Posts: 0Vote Up0Vote Down