Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Troubles with UnicodeString

I'm new to the LMD components and I'm confused about UnicodeStrings. I had troubles to insert an UnicodeString into a cell of a grid.

Grid->Cells[PathCol->Position][i] = L"testpath";

produced some additonal garbage characters. Then I found the following link:

Do I really have to use LMDUnicodeStrings? If yes, then please give me a code snippet, how to convert beween Delphi UnicodeString and LMDUnicodeStrings and back. Or do I have to recompile the packages with special definitions. At the moment I'm working with the lib files that were installed with setupvcl17d25.exe. I'm using C++Builder 10.2 Tokyo.

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I should make my error example more clear: the grid component, that I used was a TLMDGrid. I expected that there were a function to insert a new row. Because there is no, I tried to create my own. The following worked well:

void xxx::AddRow()
    {
     int i = gv_Sources->DataRowCount;
     Grid->DataRowCount++;
     Grid->Cells[IncrCol->Position][i] = i;
     Grid->Cells[PathCol->Position][i] = "testpath";

But as soon as I changed "testpath" to L"testpath", I got a lot of troubles.
  • P.S.: there is no DataSource. The gid shall work in Memory.
  • C++ prefix L represents wide-character strings, not UnicodeStrings. Please read:

http://docwiki.embarcadero.com/RADStudio/Tokyo/de/String-Typen_(Delphi) or

http://docwiki.embarcadero.com/RADStudio/Tokyo/de/Unicode_in_RAD_Studio

Since Delphi/C++Builder 2009 standard string type is UnicodeString (which is supported by TLMDGrid as default conversion from/to Variant data type).

If you need explicitely WideString support, write your own custom datasource (small example is in Grid demo included, can be certainly in-memory as well).